Ryan Anderson Is Officially In The Three-Point Contest


"The Orlando Magic’s Ryan Anderson will compete in this year’s Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 25, at Amway Center in Orlando as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night. Rounding out the field are reigning champion James Jones of the Miami Heat, All-Stars Joe Johnson of the Atlanta Hawks and Kevin Love of the Minnesota Timberwolves, Anthony Morrow of the New Jersey Nets and Mario Chalmers of the Heat. Last year, Jones bested a field that included the Boston Celtics’ Paul Pierce and Ray Allen — Pierce captured the title in 2010, while Allen, the 2001 winner, is the career leader in three-pointers made. Jones’ 20 points in the final round topped Pierce’s 18 and Allen’s 15. Previous winners include: Jeff Hornacek, Jason Kapono, Mark Price and Peja Stojakovic who won two titles each; while Larry Bird and Craig Hodges each captured three straight. The players will compete in the two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four Official Spalding NBA game balls worth one point each and one Spalding NBA All-Star 2012 commemorative “money ball” worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first-round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance. The Foot Locker Three-Point Contest will be televised live nationally as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm, which will also feature the Haier Shooting Stars; Sprite Slam Dunk; and Taco Bell Skills Challenge. TNT and ESPN Radio’s national coverage will begin at 8 p.m. EST from Amway Center. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 26, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries and will be broadcast in more than 40 languages. Foot Locker, the title partner of the Three-Point Contest since 2004, is a part of Foot Locker, Inc., a specialty athletic retailer that operates approximately 3,400 stores in 22 countries in North America, Europe, Australia, and New Zealand.  Through its Foot Locker, Footaction, Lady Foot Locker, Kids Foot Locker, Champs Sports, and CCS stores, as well as its direct-to-customer channels, including Footlocker.com, Eastbay, and CCS.com, the Company is the leading provider of athletic footwear and apparel. Following is a list of the year-by-year winners and the 2012 Foot Locker Three-Point Contest roster: FOOT LOCKER THREE-POINT CONTEST YEAR-BY-YEAR WINNERS"


"1986 – Larry Bird, Boston1987 – Larry Bird, Boston1988 – Larry Bird, Boston1989 – Dale Ellis, Seattle1990 – Craig Hodges, Chicago1991 – Craig Hodges, Chicago1992 – Craig Hodges, Chicago1993 – Mark Price, Cleveland1994 – Mark Price, Cleveland1995 – Glen Rice, Miami1996 – Tim Legler, Washington1997 – Steve Kerr, Chicago1998 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah2000 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah2001 – Ray Allen, Milwaukee2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento2003 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento2004 – Voshon Lenard, Denver2005 – Quentin Richardson, Phoenix2006 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas2007 – Jason Kapono, Miami2008 – Jason Kapono, Toronto2009 – Daequan Cook, Miami2010 – Paul Pierce, Boston2011 – James Jones, Miami  2012 FOOT LOCKER THREE-POINT CONTEST PARTICIPANTS                                                          *2011-12 Season*              *Career*Player                                           Made    Att.      %                  Made Att.      %Ryan Anderson, Orlando            80        190      .421              361      931      .388Mario Chalmers, Miami               57        123      .463              329      901      .365Joe Johnson, Atlanta                   53        149      .356              1,209   3,306   .366James Jones, Miami                     19        47        .404              570      1,418   .402Anthony Morrow, New Jersey   60        143      .420              396      894      .443Kevin Love, Minnesota                44        122      .361              169      458      .369                          (Statistics through games of Monday, Feb. 15)"

(Andrew Melnick is Howard the Dunk’s lead blogger, ESPN Florida’s Magic Insider (http://ESPNFlorida.com) and is the co-host of the ESPNFlorida.com Insiders Show Sunday mornings at 10:00 am EST. Subscribe to his RSS feed, add him on Facebook and follow him onTwitter to follow him daily. You can download the HTD app here)